Annual Player of the Year Awards

Old Wesley Club Player of the Year Awards 2019/20

The Annual Player Awards took place last Friday 1st May.  For obvious reasons the event took place remotely.   The event was hosted by the Old Wesley President Adrian Hawe.

Details of the nominations and winners are as follows.

1st XV

Nominations – Rory Stynes, Paul Derham, Charlie O’Regan, Ben Burns, David Poff, Conor Maguire


Senior Player of the Year – Ben Burns – The Stephen Mooney Memorial Trophy

Honours Scarves – Rory Stynes & Conor Maguire

Captain – Iain McGann


2nd XV

Nominations – Josh Miller, Sam Kenny, Brendan Monahan, Luke Thompson, Paddy McKenzie, Donnacha Phelan


2nd XV Player of the Year – Donnacha Phelan – The Doug McCoy Memorial Trophy

Honours Scarves – Brendan Monahan & Luke Thompson


3rd XV

Nominations – Tim Hawe, Conor Boyd, Jamie Boyd, Jeff Dand, Paddy Davis, Dan Hall


Honours Scarves – Tim Hawe & Dan Hall

Captain – Gavin Telford


4th XV

Nominations -Sean Balance, Andy Kelly, Scott Levie, Luke Corish, Shane Sweeney, Ian Sheridan


Honours Scarves – Shane Sweeney & Luke Corish

Captain  –  Guy Cresswell


5th XV

Nominations – Mark Barrett, Alex Bailey, Cameron Wood, Ross O’Sullivan, Andrew Godsil, Ben O’Sullivan


Honours Scarfs – Mark Barrett & Alex Bailey

Captain  –  John Wallace


Junior Player of the Year – Conor Boyd – The Billy Browne Memorial Trophy


Under 20s

Nominations – Brian Short, Rob Byrne, Jack Kennedy, Daniel Dooley, Daniel Wolf, Daniel Thompson, Eoin Deegan, Leo Wolf


Coaches Player of the Year – Brian Short

Players Player of the Year – Rob Byrne

Captain – David Young


U20s Player of the Year – Eoin Deegan – The Derek McCullough  Memorial Trophy


Touch Rugby

Nominations – James O’Donnell, Mark Phelan, Faye St Ledger, Sean Balance, Rebecca Phelan,   Alex McGuinness


Honours Scarves – James O’Donnell & Faye St Ledger


Youth Rugby

Under 13s – Winner  – Evan Caddow.

Under 14s – Winners – Marcus Cullen & Josh Buckley.

Under 15s – Winner – Shane Pedlow.

Under 16s – Winner – Johnny Cassini.


Ben Burns – Senior Player of the Year
Donnchadh Phelan – 2nd XV Player of the Year
Eoin Deegan – Under 20s Player of the Year

Don’t miss your club newsletter!

We don’t spam! Read our privacy policy for more info.