Old Wesley fall short in Garryowen

4th Nov 2023 – AIL – Garryowen 18 Old Wesley 12

This weekend saw Old Wesley visit Garryowen in round 4 of the AIL.

Injuries from the last game and during the week meant Old Wesley reshuffled the squad for the trip to Limerick, with Eoin Monohan replacing Ian Cassidy at 10, Josh O’Hare and Stephen Smyth coming into the back row for Josh Pim, and Billy Corrigan, and Keith Kavanagh stepping into scrum half for the departing Gary Bradley.

Wesley had started well, with Eoin Monohan sticking two penalties over the bar early on to make it 0-6 with 30 mins gone. Keith Kavanagh and Will Fay picked up injuries which meant a reshuffle in the backs and the forwards with Ben Stephens and Cathal Kelly coming on earlier than expected.

Garryowen however found a way into the game through Old Wesley’s indiscipline, which saw Garryowen take 3 points and soon after score a try in the corner through Bryan Fitzgerald to make it 8-6 to the home side. Eoin Monohan was able to nudge Wesley ahead 8-9 just before the break as the Donnybrook side looked to regroup.

The 2nd half saw Old Wesley fail to keep their discipline, 2 yellow cards to Ben Stephens and Cronan Gleeson meant Wesley were unable to impose themselves the way they would have hoped. Garryowen punished with their maul as Niall Fitzgerald went over twice in quick succession to make it 18-9 to the Limerick side. Wesley replied soon after once again through Eoin Monohan to get them within 7 of Garryowen. Old Wesley again tried to make inroads into the home sides half, but through errors, ill-discipline and fantastic defence from the Garryowen fell short. Full time, 18-12.

Old Wesley will be hoping for a response next weekend when they welcome Blackrock College RFC to Donnybrook in what is set to be a great Dublin Derby.

Old Wesley scorers: Eoin Monahan, 4 pens.

Team: Tom Larke; Nathan Randles, Alex Molloy, Eoin Murphy, Tommy O’Callaghan; Eoin Monahan, Keith Kavanagh; Harry Noonan, Howard Noonan, Cronan Gleeson, David Motyer, Reuben Pim (capt), Stephen Smyth, Josh O’Hare, Will Fay. Replacements: Dan O’Connor, Rob O’Donovan, Cathal Kelly, Alec Byrne, Fergus Jemphrey, Ben Stephens.

Don’t miss your club newsletter!

We don’t spam! Read our privacy policy for more info.