Simon Owens and Andrew Cole win Leinster Referees Awards

Andrew Cole
Simon Owens

Congratulations to Old Wesley referees Simon Owens and Andrew Cole on receiving the following Leinster Rugby Referees Awards for the 2019/20 Season.

Harry Ardill Referee of the Year: Simon Owens

Alain Rolland Award for Refereeing Performances of the Year: Andrew Cole

Simon’s Award is in recognition of both his long service to refereeing in Leinster and his off-field administration work while Andrew, after promotion to the AIL Panel of Referees and his subsequent performances, was rewarded with the accolade of being the most promising referee.

WOW (ie Whistling Old Wesleymen) officiate up to the highest level of the game in Ireland and will always welcome enquiries from interested Members willing to join us.

Apart from Simon and Andrew, Nigel Correll and Glenn Sheridan referee in the AIL, Paul BK referees Junior Rugby, Alan Lewis and Wayne Sheridan are IRFU Citing Commissioners, Andrew Baird is the timekeeper in Aviva Stadium and Mark Gargan is Chairman of Leinster Rugby Referees Management Committee.

We wish all Old Wesley referees continued success in their respective referring careers.

Don’t miss your club newsletter!

We don’t spam! Read our privacy policy for more info.