Old Wesley claim silverware in the Liam Carroll Cup

This year marked the return of the Liam Carroll Cup, which took place on the 25th February at the Sport Ireland campus.

A mixed competition, of up to 14 players per team, featuring the best and the brightest that Irish club touch had to offer. It was a day of a cracking atmosphere, high pace gameplay and of course, plenty of talent on display. 6 teams battled it out over the course of the day, but ultimately, only one stood above the others.

Fending off challenges from Cooke Warriors ((Belfast) who finished 2nd overall), Racoon West ((Galway) who finished 3rd overall), Old Belvedere (Dublin), Buccaneers RFC (Athlone) and Trinity Touch (Dublin), Old Wesley emerged victorious with a clean sweep of victories as detailed below by our very own Rachel Duggan;

Old Wesley are club champions again following their win of the Irish Touch Series one-day tournament in the honor of Liam Carroll. Clubs from across the nation gathered in the Dome to run against the best Ireland has to offer.

Coached by Mikey Kearney and captained by Ben O’Connell, Old Wesley began the morning with a win over Buccaneers RFC (Athlone), which would set the standard for the games to come.

The second match was against Belfast’s Cooke Warriors, who would be met again in the final. Old Wesley claimed a clean slate thanks to the diligence of Emily Pollard and Roisin Carroll on the line, complemented nicely by scores from Luke De Renzy and his pod.

Old Wesley claimed victories over the following two teams from Dublin – Trinity Touch and Old Belvedere, again without conceding a score. The defensive pod of Gary Hynes, Frank Ennis, Cian Mollen, and Charlotte Hall being the ones to thank.

The final against Cooke Warriors ended with a close and hard fought win following a fantastic display touch footie from both sides. resulting in Old Wesley claiming their first silverware of the season!

Back Row: Michael Kearney (Coach), Frank Ennis, Charlotte Hall, Darragh Forster, Brian Leveau, Cian Mollen, Jess Fitzgerald, Gary Hynes, Andy King

Front Row: Ash Gill, Roisin Carroll, Ben O’Connell (captain), Luke de Renzy, Rachel Duggan, Em Pollard, Jamie Maher